Devi Durga

Devi Durga

Goddess Durga celebrated at Navaratri

Goddess/diety/devi/divine being - one to devote our awareness to. 

These beautiful, mystical beings evolved throughout the long history of Hinduism. They are to be reverenced in relation to them as a part of ourselves, not something outside of us. They represent aspects of the self, to be honoured as such and to be understood as being us. 



Durga was created by Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva, and the lesser gods, to slay the buffalo demon Mahisasura. They were otherwise powerless to overcome him, as he was creating imbalance in the world. Using their collective energy (shakti), Durga is the true source of their inner power.

She is also greater than any of them. Born as a woman and beautiful, Durga presents a fierce menacing form to her enemies. She is usually shown riding a lion and with eight or ten arms, each holding the special weapon of one of the gods, who gave them to her for her battle against the buffalo demon Mahisasura.

She had fought with the most treacherous demon ‘Mahisasura’ for nine long days and took nine different forms (NavaDurga) of power to kill him. Good certainly prevailed with her strength and energy.

The 10 arms and weapons of Goddess Durga detailed and noted as gifted by:

Trishul (Trident)-Lord Shiva
Symbolises: The three gifts of human kind.

Sword-Lord Ganesh
Symbolises: Intellect and wisdom, this weapon is usually carried by people who have a sense of responsibility and the understanding to know right from wrong.

Sudarshan Chakra (Disc) Lord Vishnu
Symbolises: The centre of creation

Thunderbolt-Lord Indra
Symbolises: Firmness of character, determination, and supreme power.

Bow and Arrow-Vayu Dev
Symbolises: The combination of powers symbolises energy.

Spear-Agni Dev
Symbolism: While a spear symbolises auspiciousness, this gift of Agni also represents pure, fiery power.

Shankh (Conch)-Varuna Dev
Symbolises: The sound of creation, Aum.

Lotus-Lord Brahma
Symbolises: The lotus is the symbol of Brahma, and represents wisdom, as well as liberation through knowledge.

Symbolises: The powers of Vishwakarma, and have the power to destroy as well as create.

Snake-Lord Shiva
Symbolises: Consciousness and the male energy of Lord Shiva.